Anne Pritchard Blogger/reviewer NUMBER9REVIEWS.BLOGSPOT.COM

Posted 9th September 2021

TITLE: Oozing Magic

AUTHOR: Linda Jones
PUBLISHED BY: Linda Jones Bavoom Publishing


This delightful collection is filled with magical fantasy adventures for children aged 7-10 years. The trilogy comprises, ‘Deadwood Hall’, ‘Deep Waters’ and ‘Cavern’s Fall’. Each book relays an adventure with nine-year-old Dylan and his older sister, eleven-year-old Emily.

Fun and adventure are the main focus of this enchanting 3 book collection. All books are a short, easy read, perfect for early readers who are ready to be introduced to adventure fiction. They are enjoyable books for parents and children to read together or for a more competent older child to read alone; each book is steeped in make-believe and will definitely ignite the imaginations of young readers.

I found the interaction between the siblings so true to life and very down to earth; I enjoyed their squabbles and differences of opinion which feature faultless vocabulary and dialogue for the targeted age group. The hint of acceptable mild horror is sure to keep young readers transfixed to the story. Additionally, the tension level was kept high and the three books didn’t fall into the trap of being long-winded or boring.

All three books are a fast-paced read from start to finish, keeping the interest level high and as such all will easily maintain a young reader’s concentration throughout; all are a fun read which children are sure to enjoy.

Delightful illustrations in the three books which really bring the stories to life are provided by David Hailwood.

Reviewer – Anne Pritchard